Driver's License Restoration




Get Your Consultation

Getting Your Michigan Driver’s License Back

If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked CALL BREDOW LAW PLC.  How do you get your license back?   It depends on the reason you lost your license in the first place!  Improve your chances of success…ask Bredow Law to request your reinstatement for you.

Habitual Alcohol and Drug Offenders

Many of our clients are “Habitual Offenders”.  They are drivers who have been convicted of multiple alcohol and/or drug-related offenses.  A Habitual Offender has convictions of the one or more of the following offenses:

  • Operating while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
  • Operating a vehicle with a bodily alcohol content [BAC] of .08 or higher
  • Operating a vehicle with a BAC of .17 or higher [High BAC].
  • Operating While Impaired by alcohol or drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs.
  • Operating a commercial vehicle with an alcohol content of .04 or higher.
  • A person less than 21 years old (“Zero Tolerance”) operating a vehicle with an alcohol content of .02 or more, but less than .08 or any presence of alcohol in the body, other than from alcohol consumed as part of a generally recognized religious service or ceremony.  (A Zero Tolerance conviction may be counted only once)

For a first revocation, a Habitual Offender’s license is revoked for a minimum of 1 year. For a second or subsequent revocation (within 7 years) the license is revoked for a minimum of 5 years.  To make matters worse, the Secretary of State must deny any request to restore the license until you prove that you “Have your substance abuse and/or alcohol use under control and that you are unlikely to re-offend.”

After the one-year or five-year minimum revocation period, a Habitual Offender’s license is not automatically restored.   You must request an Administrative Hearing for reinstatement of the driver’s license. These are formal hearings before a state hearing officer and the hearing officer cannot order a license unless the petitioner proves by clear and convincing evidence all the following facts:

  • His or her alcohol and/or substance abuse problems, if any, are under control and are likely to remain under control.
  • He or she represents a low or minimal risk of again driving drunk and/or drugged, or repeating his or her past abusive behavior regarding alcohol and/or drugs.
  • He or she has the ability and motivation to drive safely and within the law.
  • He or she has a minimum period of abstinence.

Do you have Questions about Sobriety Courts? Please see the Michigan Secretary of State’s FAQ on Sobriety Courts here: